Video USACE Gull Lake Dam Centennial

History teaches us that often times the fur trading routes followed the waterways because the early travelers often relied on small canoes to travel and explore much of this region. Gull Lake Dam was built in 1812 as a concrete dam, whereas further north the Pine River Dam (Crosslake) was constructed in 1885-86 and built on a timber platform supported on timber piling driven into the subsoil.

The untreated lumber in the abutments and piers of the dam deteriorate rather rapidly and a program of reconstruction using mass concrete in new abutments and piers was done in 1905-1906.    (source: "A Taste of History, tales and tastes of the Crosslake area past" Crosslake Area Historical Society ©2004)

Tags: