In 1964 the idea was conceived of cutting into the forest to create a golf course. Old-timers scoffed at the notion of golfing instead of fishing, but their skepticism was unfounded.
Built in the late 1930’s, the resort was later owned by famous Whitefish area fishing guides, George and Rollie Johnson. Many buildings have a unique stucco design in two colors.
Originally known as Campfire Lodge, the present name appeared in 1958. A cute miniature golf course and safety-fenced children’s playground greet visitors as they enter.
This is the westernmost of 16 perimeter dikes constructed as part of the Pine River Dam Project.
When John Knebel moved to the area for health reasons in the early 1900’s, he found this an “Ideal” place to live, and thus the township was named.
Created with donations of money and labor, this park is a true ‘community effort’. Travelers can take a break at picnic tables under the roofed pavilion while the children enjoy the playground.
Developed in 1939, the construction of the resort was financed by a Salem, NE, banker who, according to lore, actually came up to “this remote part of Minnesota” and pounded a few nails himself.
Donated to the DNR by the Uppgaard family in 1987, this 110 acre tract has been specially landscaped to attract various wildlife from deer to butterflies.
This tranquil (.8 mile in) setting was once called Beacon Heights and catered to Christian families that were also members of a group called the Red Sea Mission.
Built on land purchased from the railroad in 1934, Boyd Lodge had 8 cabins by the late 30's. During the 40's and 50's, a mink farm occupied the area that is now the tennis courts.